BARNABY RUDGE
ebook

BARNABY RUDGE

Editorial:
SAGA EGMONT
ISBN:
9788726605778
Formato:
Epublication content package
DRM
Si
$305.00 MXN
IVA incluido

?Barnaby Rudge? is a historical novel by Charles Dickens, depicting the anti-Catholic Gordon Riots of 1780 in England. It is a novel in which danger lurks around every corner, as the titular character and his mother venture across England to evade a mystery man that is haunting them. After arriving in London, the protagonists are swept up in the vortex of violence surrounding them as Barnaby is mistakenly captured by a group of soldiers and must escape before he is sentenced to death. ?Barnaby Rudge? is not simply a recollection of the riots but a sprawling story about lovers torn apart by their families and unsolved murders. Dickens? celebrated social criticism is portrayed in this novel as the urban decay in the London slums fosters ?the very scum and refuse? that return as a violent mob to destroy it. A terrifying addition to Dickens? collection, ?Barnaby Rudge? is recommended for fans of Dickens and Shakespeare. Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was a widely popular English author and social critic. Among his most famous novels are ?Oliver Twist?, ?A Christmas Carol?, and ?Great Expectations?. Dickens is best known for his depictions of poor Victorian living conditions and his unforgettable characters, some compassionate and others grotesquely malicious. Dickens? timeless tales are still as celebrated today as when they were written, and his literary style is so influential that the term Dickensian was coined to describe the literature he inspired. Many of Dickens? novels have been adapted for movies and television, including the Academy Award-winning musical ?Oliver?.

Otros libros del autor